V-Note Part I: Restaurant Review

The lovely people over at Groupon put out a $15 deal for $30 worth of organic, vegan food at V-Note Organics on First Avenue in the Upper East Side.

I bought two.

So last night I took my very best friend there for a celebration of the new semester. One reason why she is so incredible? She puts up with my obsession over fine vegan dining, my odd liking to kale smoothies, and my overall hippie tree-hugger granola-eating self. She  is willing and happy to try any vegan food I stick in her face, so I knew she would be a great dining partner.

V-Note, on First between 79th and 80th, is positively one of my new favorite restaurants in the city.

Its intimate but always filled with people, it features live music, and the atmosphere is heavenly (read: dim lights, cool wall art, eclectic waitstaff). Most importantly, though? THE FOOD!

We started off with this appetizer:

Mushroom Phyllo Cigars

porcini and tempeh filled phyllo, cashew cream, slivered almonds, pomegranate seeds

This was Katy’s first time trying Tempeh and my first time having it prepared in a restaurant; we both agreed it was fantastic.

Her entree was warm and delicious…

Roasted Pumpkin & Sweet Potato Gnocchi

sweet potato gnocchi over a bed of sauteed kale, golden beets, in a sage cashew cream

No offense, Kat, but I must say that my dish literally floored me-I added it to top five favorite lifetime meals.

Barbecue Tempeh

served over horseradish creme fraiche and potato salad with roasted summer corn salad and avocado

blurry photo; you get the idea!

If you ever get the chance to dine at V-Note, please order this dish. The tempeh, when mixed with the sauce and potato salad, was mouthwatering, and Katy and I devoured that avocado corn salad. You should know-avocado is one of my favorite foods. I haven’t eaten a plain whole avocado yet in my life, but it’s probably gonna happen soon.

Onto dessert! [vegan desserts should be illegal…just saying] We split the Chocolate Ganache Cake with a Peanut Butter Center.

….

Eh…it was average.

😉 JAYKAYZ~

It was actually da. vine.

mesmerized that something so good could be vegan-and healthy!

agh...forgive me, I had been up since 6am.

Happy girls!

I’ll be using my second Groupon deal next Thursday when a friend from home visits; I am determined to order everything on the menu, so stay tuned for V-Note Part II. 

Happy Friday!

This entry was published on February 3, 2012 at 12:24 pm and is filed under restaurant reviews, vegan. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Thoughts?

