Product Review: Barre Real Food Bar

My lovely friend Madison scored a new, all-natural and vegan food bar at her work the other day and kindly offered it up to me to try. The brand is called Barre, and its

“a real food bar developed by two professional dancers, made with real ingredients for real athletes.”

http://www.realfoodbarre.com

{I LOVE the packaging; its simple, cute, and not too busy with graphics or words like other energy or protein bars tend to be.}

The idea behind the bar, developed by partners and former dancers Julia Erickson and Aaron Ingley, came from the frustration that there was not a quality, natural, and effective protein bar out there for dancers (as well as other athletes). Fed up with the fake, sugary, and unhealthy products on the market, the two decided to create their own bar using real food ingredients.

{Their ingredients include: dates, agave nectar, walnuts, pecans, sunflower seed butter, cranberries, cocoa powder, hemp seed, hemp protein, oats, ground flaxseed, brown rice protein, salt, and peanuts.}

Nutritional Stats (for the Black Swan Dark Chocolate Cherry flavor):

Calories: 210

Trans Fat: 12 grams

Sugars: 15 grams

Protein: 7 grams

My thoughts?

{Yes. I did stealthily take Photobooth pictures of myself eating a snack at my college cafe.}

{No. I am not ashamed of this.}

{I was in the middle of studying for midterms. Gotta do what you gotta do.}

{Oh hay!}

My review: not a fan! The composition of the bar reminded me of that of Lara Bars, as the ingredients are so wholesome and natural that they are simply mashed together by hand and molded into a bar. But, I would definitely prefer Lara Bars over the Barre. It’s hard to describe, but it just tasted a bit odd to me. With so much sugar, I didn’t even taste much sweetness. I also wish there was more protein. The bar kept me full for a little over 2 hours; I can imagine any dancer or athlete would hope for a bar to fill them up for up to 3 hours at a time.

I wouldn’t be opposed to trying their other flavors, such as cinnamon pecan, but all in all I am not sold on these bars. Great concept, not so great outcome.

*Remember, this is just my opinion! I am simply reviewing a product for anyone out there who is curious. 🙂

This entry was published on March 3, 2012 at 1:13 am and is filed under reviews, vegan. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Product Review: Barre Real Food Bar

  1. I didn’t like the Ballerina flavor. Was hoping I might like one of the others thinking maybe not after reading your review. thanks!

Thoughts?

